Skip Navigation

Math Department

Mathematics and number sense have never been more important. Coastline math classes can help you prepare for a certificate, earn a degree, transfer to another school, advance in your career, or just understand the world better. We recognize, however, that students have a huge variety in their schedules, requirements, and background, so we've made it easier than ever to find a math class that meets your needs. The College offers classes taught by professors in a variety of formats, including classroom, cable TV, hybrid or online in 4-week, 8-week, 12-week and 16-week sessions.

Every class except Basic Mathematics and Statistics Pathway 1 requires either a prerequisite course, a qualifying score on the math placement test, or multiple measures placement. Learn more about the test and see the study guide at the Assessment Center . See below for a flowchart of the math department course sequence.

If you have any questions, or for more information on your textbook options, contact your instructor, Dr. Lisa Lee (llee@coastline.edu), Math Department Co-Chair, or Fred Feldon (ffeldon@coastline.edu), Math Department Co-Chair.

Mitchell Alves
Professor of Mathematics

malves@coastline.edu

Dr. Lisa Lee
Professor of Mathematics
Math Department Co-Chair

llee@coastline.edu

Fred Feldon
Professor of Mathematics
Math Department Co-Chair

ffeldon@coastline.edu

Son Nguyen PHD
Mathematics Instructor

snguyen8@coastline.edu

Hao-Nhien Vu
Mathematics Instructor

hvu132@cccd.edu

Math Course Prerequisites 2018-2019

Math Sequence Flowchart / Prerequisites Image - Please refer to the tables below

Basic Skills Math Course Prerequisites

Note: Students completing MATH C010 may register for MATH C045.

Basic Skills Math Course Prerequisites

CoursePrerequisites
MATH C005none
MATH C008MATH C005
MATH C010MATH C008
MATH C030MATH C010
MATH C044none
MATH C045MATH C008 or MATH C044
MATH C046none
MATH C047none

Transfer Level Math Course Prerequisites

Note: MATH C115 and MATH C120 also satisfy MATH C180 prerequisites.

* : STEM Major math courses are marked with an asterisk.

Transfer Level Math Course Prerequisites

CoursePrerequisites
MATH C100 MATH C030 or MATH C045 or MATH C047
MATH C103 MATH C030 or MATH C045 or MATH C047
MATH C104 MATH C030 or MATH C045 or MATH C047
MATH C106 MATH C030 or MATH C045 or MATH C047
MATH C115 MATH C030 or MATH C045 or MATH C047
MATH C120 *MATH C030 or MATH C045 or MATH C047
MATH C140 MATH C115
MATH C146 MATH C046
MATH C150 MATH C030 or MATH C045 or MATH C047
MATH C160 MATH C030 or MATH C045 or MATH C047
MATH C170 *MATH C120
MATH C180 *MATH C170 or MATH C115 and MATH C120
MATH C185 *MATH C180
MATH C280 *MATH C185
MATH C285 *MATH C185

Math Faculty Contact Information

Math Faculty Contact Information

NameEmail
Alves, Mitchell malves@coastline.edu
Antonious, McKale mantonious@coastline.edu
Can, Minh mcan@coastline.edu
Cao, Thomas tcao@coastline.edu
Cheng, Bing bcheng3@coastline.edu
Cisneros, Mark mcisneros@coastline.edu
Estephan, Joseph jestephan@coastline.edu
Everett, Michael meverett@coastline.edu
Farnham, II Paul pfarnhamii@cccd.edu
Feiner, Henri hfeiner@coastline.edu
Feldon, Fred ffeldon@coastline.edu
Forbes, Junko jforbes@coastline.edu
Horikawa, Kazumi khorikawa@coastline.edu
Jaber, John jjaber@coastline.edu
Kuang, Jessica jkuang@cccd.edu
Lee, Lisa llee@coastline.edu
Lieu, Anasa tlieu@coastline.edu
Mirfattah, Mehdi mmirfattah@coastline.edu
Nguyen, Son snguyen8@coastline.edu
Nguyen, Diem dtnguyen@cccd.edu
Ryan, Mutsuno mryan@cccd.edu
Ryan, John kryan@coastline.edu
Shi, Nigie nshi@coastline.edu
Shiring, Richard rshiring@coastline.edu
Song, Guoqiang gsong6@coastline.edu
Steinberg, Linda lnguen805@coastline.edu
Tran, Duy dtran277@coastline.edu
Tran, Chau cdtran@coastline.edu
Vu, HaoNhien hvu132@coastline.edu
Xu, May mxu@cccd.edu
Yang, James jyang58@coastline.edu