Math Department

Mathematics and number sense have never been more important. Coastline math classes can help you prepare for a certificate, earn a degree, transfer to another school, advance in your career, or just understand the world better. We recognize, however, that students have a huge variety in their schedules, requirements, and background, so we've made it easier than ever to find a math class that meets your needs. The College offers classes taught by professors in a variety of formats, including classroom, cable TV, hybrid or online in 4-week, 8-week, 12-week and 16-week sessions.

Every class except Basic Mathematics and Statistics Pathway 1 requires either a prerequisite course, a qualifying score on the math placement test, or multiple measures placement. Learn more about the test and see the study guide at the Assessment Center . See below for a flowchart of the math department course sequence.

If you have any questions, or for more information on your textbook options, contact your instructor or Dr. Lisa Lee ( llee@coastline.edu ), Math Department Chair.

Mitchell Alves
Professor of Mathematics

malves@coastline.edu

Dr. Lisa Lee
Professor of Mathematics
Math Department Co-Chair

llee@coastline.edu

Fred Feldon
Professor of Mathematics
Math Department Co-Chair

ffeldon@coastline.edu

Son Nguyen PHD
Mathematics Instructor

snguyen8@coastline.edu

Hao-Nhien Vu
Mathematics Instructor

hvu132@cccd.edu

Math Course Prerequisites

Math Sequence Flowchart / Prerequisites Image - Please refer to the table below

Basic Skills Math Course Prerequisites

  • MATH C005: none
  • MATH C007: none
  • MATH C008: MATH C005 or MATH C007
  • MATH C010: MATH C008
  • MATH C030: MATH C010
  • MATH C044: none
  • MATH C045: MATH C008 or MATH C044
  • MATH C046: none

Note: Students completing MATH C010 may register for MATH C045.

Transfer Level Math Course Prerequisites

Note: MATH C115 and MAT C120 also satisfy MATH C180 prerequisites.

* = STEM Major math courses

  • MATH C100: MATH C030 or MATH C045
  • MATH C103: MATH C030 or MATH C045
  • MATH C104: MATH C030 or MATH C045
  • MATH C106: MATH C030 or MATH C045
  • MATH C115: MATH C030 or MATH C045
  • MATH C120 *: MATH C030 or MATH C045
  • MATH C140: MATH C115
  • MATH C146: MATH C046
  • MATH C150: MATH C030 or MATH C045
  • MATH C160: MATH C030 or MATH C045
  • MATH C170 *: MATH C120
  • MATH C180 *: MATH C170 or MATH C115 and MATH C120
  • MATH C185 *: MATH C180
  • MATH C280 *: MATH C185
  • MATH C285 *: MATH C185

Math Faculty Contact Information

NameEmail
Alves, Mitchell malves@coastline.edu
Antonious, McKale mantonious@coastline.edu
Can, Minh mcan@coastline.edu
Cao, Thomas tcao@coastline.edu
Cheng, Bing bcheng3@coastline.edu
Cisneros, Mark mcisneros@coastline.edu
Estephan, Joseph jestephan@coastline.edu
Everett, Michael meverett@coastline.edu
Farnham, II Paul pfarnhamii@cccd.edu
Feiner, Henri hfeiner@coastline.edu
Feldon, Fred ffeldon@coastline.edu
Forbes, Junko jforbes@coastline.edu
Horikawa, Kazumi khorikawa@coastline.edu
Jaber, John jjaber@coastline.edu
Kuang, Jessica jkuang@cccd.edu
Lee, Lisa llee@coastline.edu
Lieu, Anasa tlieu@coastline.edu
Mirfattah, Mehdi mmirfattah@coastline.edu
Nguyen, Son snguyen8@coastline.edu
Nguyen, Diem dtnguyen@cccd.edu
Ryan, Mutsuno mryan@cccd.edu
Ryan, John kryan@coastline.edu
Shi, Nigie nshi@coastline.edu
Shiring, Richard rshiring@coastline.edu
Song, Guoqiang gsong6@coastline.edu
Steinberg, Linda lnguen805@coastline.edu
Tran, Duy dtran277@coastline.edu
Tran, Chau cdtran@coastline.edu
Vu, HaoNhien hvu132@coastline.edu
Xu, May mxu@cccd.edu
Yang, James jyang58@coastline.edu

What can we help you find?

Browse our Sitemap