Skip Navigation

Promotional Items

MATH DEPARTMENT

Explore a degree in Math!

AWARD-WINNING FACULTY

Learn wh(Y) Mathematics Professor and Co-Chair, Fred Feldon, has been named 'Teacher of the Year' twice.

READ MORE FRED FELDON

Math Department

Mathematics and number sense have never been more important. Coastline math classes can help you prepare for a certificate, earn a degree, transfer to another school, advance in your career, or just understand the world better. We recognize, however, that students have a huge variety in their schedules, requirements, and background, so we've made it easier than ever to find a math class that meets your needs. The College offers classes taught by professors in a variety of formats, including classroom, cable TV, hybrid, or online in 4-week, 8-week, 12-week, and 16-week sessions.

To help determine which class to register for, please refer to the Math Course Sequence chart below. You may also read the CCC Course Placement Model for Mathematics. Consult with your Counselor for further advice.

If you have any questions, or for more information on your textbook options, contact your instructor, Dr. Lisa Lee (llee@coastline.edu), Math Department Co-Chair, or Fred Feldon (ffeldon@coastline.edu), Math Department Co-Chair.

Mitchell Alves
Professor of Mathematics

malves@coastline.edu

Dr. Lisa Lee
Professor of Mathematics
Math Department Co-Chair

llee@coastline.edu

Fred Feldon
Professor of Mathematics
Math Department Co-Chair

ffeldon@coastline.edu

Son Nguyen PHD
Mathematics Instructor

snguyen8@coastline.edu

Hao-Nhien Vu
Mathematics Instructor

hvu132@cccd.edu

2019-2020 Math Pathways Flowchart

Math Sequence Flowchart / Prerequisites Image - Please refer to the tables below

State law AB 705 is now in effect. Placement testing has been eliminated. All students may enroll directly into transfer, college-level math. Placement is now based primarily on high school grades. Students who have been out of high school for more than 10 years, studied outside the U.S., or fall into other circumstances where high school grades do not apply, may complete the Guided Self Placement. See your Counselor or visit the Assessment Center for more information.

Pre-College Level Math Courses

Pre-College Level Math Courses

CourseNamePrerequisite
MATH C030Intermediate Algebra none
MATH C045Combined Elementary/Intermediate Algebra none
MATH C046Statistics Pathway 1 none

Support Courses

MATH C091 and C096 Support Courses are 2-unit support courses for College Algebra and Introduction to Statistics. These support courses are recommended for students who:

  • Feel they have not met the prerequisite for College Algebra or Statistics
  • Have not been exposed to Math in an educational setting for a while
  • Generally feel they may benefit from extra support in College Algebra or Statistics

Coastline also provides Math success resources to all students including free tutoring, Dolphin Connect, the College Readiness Program, and Academic Success Coaches.

Support Courses

CourseNamePrerequisite
MATH C091Support for College Algebra none
MATH C096Support for Intro to Statistics none

College Level Math Courses

College Level Math Courses

CourseNamePrerequisite
MATH C100Liberal Arts Math MATH C030 or MATH C045
MATH C103Statistics for Elementary Teachers MATH C030 or MATH C045
MATH C104Math for Elementary Teachers MATH C030 or MATH C045
MATH C106Geometry For Elementary Teachers MATH C030 or MATH C045
MATH C115College Algebra MATH C030 or MATH C045
MATH C140Business Calculus MATH C115
MATH C150Finite Math MATH C030 or MATH C045
MATH C160Intro to Statistics MATH C030 or MATH C045 or MATH C046

STEM Majors

STEM Majors

CourseNamePrerequisite
MATH C120Trigonometry MATH C030 or MATH C045
MATH C170Precalculus MATH C120
MATH C180Calculus 1 MATH C115 and MATH C120
MATH C185Calculus 2 MATH C180
MATH C280Calculus 3 MATH C185
MATH C285Intro to Linear/Differential Eq. MATH C185

Guided Self Placement Form Math Multiple Measures Course Placement Model

Math Faculty Contact Information

Math Faculty Contact Information

NameEmail
Alves, Mitchell malves@coastline.edu
Antonious, McKale mantonious@coastline.edu
Can, Minh mcan@coastline.edu
Cao, Thomas tcao@coastline.edu
Cheng, Bing bcheng3@coastline.edu
Cisneros, Mark mcisneros@coastline.edu
Estephan, Joseph jestephan@coastline.edu
Everett, Michael meverett@coastline.edu
Farnham, II Paul pfarnhamii@cccd.edu
Feldon, Fred ffeldon@coastline.edu
Forbes, Junko jforbes@coastline.edu
Horikawa, Kazumi khorikawa@coastline.edu
Jaber, John jjaber@coastline.edu
Kuang, Jessica jkuang@cccd.edu
Lee, Lisa llee@coastline.edu
Mirfattah, Mehdi mmirfattah@coastline.edu
Nguyen, Diem dtnguyen@cccd.edu
Nguyen, Son snguyen8@coastline.edu
Ryan, John kryan@coastline.edu
Ryan, Mutsuno mryan@cccd.edu
Seto, Shoo sseto1@coastline.edu
Shi, Nigie nshi@coastline.edu
Shiring, Richard rshiring@coastline.edu
Smith, Luke lsmith193@coastline.edu
Solheid, Christa csolheid@coastline.edu
Song, Guoqiang gsong6@coastline.edu
Steinberg, Linda lnguen805@coastline.edu
Tran, Chau cdtran@coastline.edu
Tran, Duy dtran277@coastline.edu
Vu, HaoNhien hvu132@coastline.edu
Yang, James jyang58@coastline.edu

Contact

Fred Feldon, Department Co-Chair
ffeldon@coastline.edu

Lisa Lee, Department Co-Chair
llee@coastline.edu

Related Pages

Subscribe to our Student Newsletter

Monthly updates for all things Coastline!

NEWSLETTER SIGN-UP!