Math Department

Mathematics and number sense have never been more important. Coastline math classes can help you prepare for a certificate, earn a degree, transfer to another school, advance in your career, or just understand the world better. We recognize, however, that students have a huge variety in their schedules, requirements, and background, so we've made it easier than ever to find a math class that meets your needs. The College offers classes taught by professors in a variety of formats, including classroom, cable TV, hybrid or online in 4-week, 8-week, 12-week and 16-week sessions.

Every class except Basic Mathematics and Statistics Pathway 1 requires either a prerequisite course, a qualifying score on the math placement test, or multiple measures placement. Learn more about the test and see the study guide at the Assessment Center . See below for a flowchart of the math department course sequence.

If you have any questions, or for more information on your textbook options, contact your instructor or Dr. Lisa Lee ( llee@coastline.edu ), Math Department Chair.

Math Sequence Flowchart

Math Sequence Flowchart / Prerequisites - Refer to the table below

The following table describes the prerequisites for each math course:

Math Course Prerequisites

Course Prerequisite
Math C005 - Basic Mathematics none
Bus C007 - Business Mathematics none
Math C008 - Pre-Algebra Math C005 or Bus C007
Math C010 - Elementary Algebra Math C008
Math C030 - Intermediate Algebra Math C010
Math C044 - Combo Basic Math & Pre-Algebra Math C010
Math C045 - Combo Elementary & Intermediate Algebra Math C008 or Math C044
Math C046 - Statistics Pathway 1 none
Math C100 - Liberal Arts Math Math C030 or Math C045
Math C103 - Statistics for Elementary Teachers Math C030 or Math C045
Math C104 - Real Numbers for Elementary Teachers Math C030 or Math C045
Math C106 - Geometry for Elementary Teachers Math C030 or Math C045
Math C115 - College Algebra Math C030 or Math C045
Math C120 - Trigonometry Math C030 or Math C045
Math C140 - Survey of Calculus Math C115 or Math C170
Math C146 - Statistics Pathway 2 Math C046
Math C150 - Finite Mathematics Math C030 or Math C045
Math C160 - Introduction to Statistics Math C030 or Math C045
Math C170 - Precalculus Math C120 or Math C140 or Math C180
Math C180 - Calculus 1 Math C120 or Math C170
Math C185 - Calculus 2 Math C180
Math C280 - Calculus 3 Math c185
Math C285 - Linear Algebra & Differential Equations Math C185

Math Faculty Contact Information

NameEmail
Alves, Mitchell malves@coastline.edu
Antonious, McKale mantonious@coastline.edu
Can, Minh mcan@coastline.edu
Cao, Thomas tcao@coastline.edu
Cheng, Bing bcheng3@coastline.edu
Cisneros, Mark mcisneros@coastline.edu
Estephan, Joseph jestephan@coastline.edu
Everett, Michael meverett@coastline.edu
Farnham, II Paul pfarnhamii@cccd.edu
Feiner, Henri hfeiner@coastline.edu
Feldon, Fred ffeldon@coastline.edu
Forbes, Junko jforbes@coastline.edu
Horikawa, Kazumi khorikawa@coastline.edu
Jaber, John jjaber@coastline.edu
Kuang, Jessica jkuang@cccd.edu
Lee, Lisa llee@coastline.edu
Lieu, Anasa tlieu@coastline.edu
Mirfattah, Mehdi mmirfattah@coastline.edu
Nguyen, Son snguyen8@coastline.edu
Nguyen, Diem dtnguyen@cccd.edu
Ryan, Mutsuno mryan@cccd.edu
Ryan, John kryan@coastline.edu
Shi, Nigie nshi@coastline.edu
Shiring, Richard rshiring@coastline.edu
Song, Guoqiang gsong6@coastline.edu
Steinberg, Linda lnguen805@coastline.edu
Tran, Duy dtran277@coastline.edu
Tran, Chau cdtran@coastline.edu
Vu, HaoNhien hvu132@coastline.edu
Xu, May mxu@cccd.edu
Yang, James jyang58@coastline.edu

What can we help you find?

Browse our Sitemap