Skip Navigation

English Department

The ability to communicate effectively on paper is instrumental to academic and professional success. Coastline's English and Humanities courses help you prepare for a certificate, earn a degree, transfer to a university, or advance your career. Our students have busy schedules, so our caring instructors offer classes during fall, spring, and summer in 8-week and 16-week sessions through a variety of deliveries, including classroom, hybrid, independent study, and online.

Students place into either English C100 Freshman Composition or English C099 Fundamentals of Composition based on their high school cumulative GPA, grade in highest level of high school English, Accuplacer test score, or other criteria. Students who place into 099 based on these assessment measures may opt to take specified sections English C100 + English C090, a one-unit co-requisite course for developmental learners that allows them to complete college-level English in one semester. Students may also "guided self-place" into Freshman Composition by completing a self-placement form in the Assessment Center and consulting with a college counselor or English instructor. Learn more about placement at the Assessment Center.

If you are a student, instructor, or other interested party with questions about the English & Humanities program, contact Professor Scott Davis (sdavis@coastline.edu) or Professor Marilyn Fry (mfry@coastline.edu), the program co-chairs.

Full-time Faculty

Stephanie Bridges
sbridges@coastline.edu

Oceana Callum
ocallum@coastline.edu



Part-Time Faculty

NameEmail
Ardinger, Charles cardinger@coastline.edu
Brock, Marilyn mvbrock@coastline.edu
Carpenter, Linda lcarpenter@coastline.edu
Dang, Mai mdang@coastline.edu
Daniel, Maribeth mdaniel@coastline.edu
Fry, Marilyn mfry@coastline.edu
Lopez, Michelle mlopez208@coastline.edu
Milton, Noelle nmilton@coastline.edu
Morehouse, Karen kmorehouse@coastline.edu
Nichols, Kristen knichols@coastline.edu
Oase, Daniel doase@coastline.edu
Oelstrom, Jeanne joelstrom@coastline.edu
Ozbirn, Katherine kozbirn@coastline.edu
Palmer, Cathy cpalmer@coastline.edu
Rogoff, Meri mrogoff@coastline.edu
Sakovich, Lauren lsakovich@cccd.edu
Seymer, Dave dseymer@coastline.edu
Thacker, Terry estraussthacker@coastline.edu
Windsor, Adrian awindsor@coastline.edu

English Offerings

English C099 Fundamentals of Composition focuses on drafting, organization, sentence structure, sentence variety, grammar, and punctuation. Students begin the semester of English C099 crafting sentences and paragraphs and write structured essays by the end of the semester. English C100 Freshman Composition teaches students grammar and punctuation conventions, logic, critical thinking, fallacies, reading comprehension strategies, research methods, and the structures of the most common essay modes.

After completing English C100, students who are planning to transfer to the University of California, to any private college or university in California, or to any university may take English C102 Critical Reasoning. Students who are on the IGETC (Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum) track are required to take 102, which focuses on reading critically, thinking critically, writing argumentative essays, and writing a research paper.

For other types of writing, students may take Fiction Writing, Business English, Business Writing, or Business Communication. Coastline has a wide variety of literature courses from which to choose: Appreciation of Literature, Children's Literature, American Literature: The Short Story, American Lit through the Civil War, American Lit 1865 to Present, Shakespeare, British Lit to 1800, British Lit Since 1800, Gothic Victorian Lit, and Contemporary Gothic Lit.

The English Major: Transfer A.A. Degree

The study of English provides opportunities to explore the worlds of literature and ideas. Coastline's English major produces graduates with demonstrated skills in literary analysis, research, critical thinking, and written communication. As English majors learn to read with a critical eye, they also polish their own writing skills.

AA Degree in English for Transfer

All of the literature courses (English C140 through English C297) count for C2 Humanities credit for the CSU A.A. Degree. English C140, English C145, English C150, English C155, English C181, English C270, and English C275 count in Group B: Humanities for the IGETC A.A. Degree. English C145 also counts for Coastline's Global and Multicultural Studies requirement.

Humanities Offerings

Coastline's Humanities courses provide insights into historical, religious, intellectual, socio-political, philosophical, and cultural values through the study of arts and civilizations. Our three offerings, HUM C100 Introduction to the Humanities, HUM C110 Humanities through the Arts, and HUM C135 History and Appreciation of the Cinema also fulfill IGETC Area 3, CSU Area C, CCC Group C, and the CCC Global and Multicultural Studies requirement.

Subscribe to our Student Newsletter

Monthly updates for all things Coastline!

NEWSLETTER SIGN-UP!