English Department

The ability to communicate effectively on paper is instrumental to academic and professional success. Coastline's English and Humanities courses help you prepare for a certificate, earn a degree, transfer to a university, or advance your career. Our students have busy schedules, so our caring instructors offer classes in 8-week and 16-week sessions in a variety of deliveries, including classroom, hybrid, independent study, and online.

Other than English C098, all composition courses require either a prerequisite course or a qualifying score on the English Placement Test. Learn more about the test at the Assessment Center. If you have any questions, contact Professor Marilyn Fry (mfry@coastline.edu) or Professor Scott Davis (sdavis@coastline.edu), the program co-chairs.

Full-time Faculty

Stephanie Bridges
sbridges@coastline.edu

Oceana Callum
ocallum@coastline.edu



Part-Time Faculty

NameEmail
Ardinger, Charles cardinger@coastline.edu
Brock, Marilyn mvbrock@coastline.edu
Carpenter, Linda lcarpenter@coastline.edu
Dang, Mai mdang@coastline.edu
Daniel, Maribeth mdaniel@coastline.edu
Fry, Marilyn mfry@coastline.edu
Kabaji, Nora nwazzan@gwc.cccd.edu
Leeper, Laura lleeper@coastline.edu
Lopez, Michelle mlopez208@coastline.edu
Milton, Noelle nmilton@coastline.edu
Morehouse, Karen kmorehouse@coastline.edu
Nichols, Kristen knichols@coastline.edu
Oase, Daniel doase@coastline.edu
Oelstrom, Jeanne joelstrom@coastline.edu
Ozbirn, Katherine kozbirn@coastline.edu
Palmer, Cathy cpalmer@coastline.edu
Rogoff, Meri mrogoff@coastline.edu
Sakovich, Lauren lsakovich@cccd.edu
Seymer, Dave dseymer@coastline.edu
Thacker, Terry estraussthacker@coastline.edu
Windsor, Adrian awindsor@coastline.edu

English Offerings

A variety of English courses below the English C098 level teach reading or specific punctuation or grammar competencies. English C098 (Developmental Writing) and English C099 (Fundamentals of Composition) focus on drafting, organization, sentence structure, sentence variety, grammar, and punctuation. In English C098, students learn to write organized, developed paragraphs. Students begin the semester of English C099 writing paragraphs and then write structured essays by the end of the semester, further developing their skills in punctuation and grammar. Freshman Composition (English C100) teaches students grammar and punctuation conventions; logic, critical thinking, and fallacies; the structures of the most common essay modes; and research methods.

After completing English C100, students who are planning to transfer to the University of California, to any private college or university in California, or to any university in the rest of the United States or the world will take English C102: Critical Reasoning. Students who are in the IGETC (Intersegmental General Education Transfer Curriculum) Program are required to take this course. English C102 focuses on reading critically, thinking critically, writing argumentative essays, and writing a research paper.

For other types of writing, students may take Fiction Writing (English C133), Business English (English C103), Business Writing (English C135), or Business Communication (English C136). Coastline has a wide variety of literature courses from which to choose. Most of these are offered once or twice a year. They are listed below in the courses available for the English major.

Humanities Offerings

Coastline’s Humanities courses provide insights into historical, religious, intellectual, socio-political, philosophical, and cultural values through the study of arts and civilizations. Our three offerings, HUM C100: Introduction to the Humanities, HUM C110: Humanities through the Arts, and HUM C135: History and Appreciation of the Cinema also fulfill IGETC Area 3, CSU Area C, CCC Group C, and the CCC Global and Multicultural Studies requirement.

The English Major: Transfer A.A. Degree

The study of English provides opportunities to explore the world of literature. Coastline’s English major produces graduates with demonstrated skills in literary analysis, research, critical thinking, and written communication. As English majors are learning to read with a critical eye, they are polishing their own writing skills.

AA Degree in English for Transfer

All of the literature courses (English C140 through English C297) also count for C2 Humanities credit for the CSU A.A. Degree. English C140, English C144, English C145, English C150, English C155, English C181, English C270, English C275, and Theater Arts C101 count in Group B: Humanities for the IGETC A.A. Degree. English C144 and C145 also count for Coastline's Global and Multicultural Studies requirement.

What can we help you find?

Browse our Sitemap